§ 84-2.2. Exemption and additional requirements for Web site providers.

- (a) The practice of law, including the giving of legal advice, as defined by G.S. 84-2.1 does not include the operation of a Web site by a provider that offers consumers access to interactive software that generates a legal document based on the consumer's answers to questions presented by the software, provided that all of the following are satisfied:
 - (1) The consumer is provided a means to see the blank template or the final, completed document before finalizing a purchase of that document.
 - (2) An attorney licensed to practice law in the State of North Carolina has reviewed each blank template offered to North Carolina consumers, including each and every potential part thereof that may appear in the completed document. The name and address of each reviewing attorney must be kept on file by the provider and provided to the consumer upon written request.
 - (3) The provider must communicate to the consumer that the forms or templates are not a substitute for the advice or services of an attorney.
 - (4) The provider discloses its legal name and physical location and address to the consumer.
 - (5) The provider does not disclaim any warranties or liability and does not limit the recovery of damages or other remedies by the consumer.
 - (6) The provider does not require the consumer to agree to jurisdiction or venue in any state other than North Carolina for the resolution of disputes between the provider and the consumer.
 - (7) The provider must have a consumer satisfaction process. All consumer concerns involving the unauthorized practice of law made to the provider shall be referred to the North Carolina State Bar. The consumer satisfaction process must be conspicuously displayed on the provider's Web site.
- (b) A Web site provider subject to this section shall register with the North Carolina State Bar prior to commencing operation in the State and shall renew its registration with the State Bar annually. The State Bar may not refuse registration.
- (c) Each Web site provider subject to this section shall pay an initial registration fee in an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars (\$100.00) and an annual renewal fee in an amount not to exceed fifty dollars (\$50.00). (2016-60, s. 2.)

G.S. 84-2.2