Article 40A.

North Carolina Courts Commission.

§ 7A-506. Creation; members; terms; qualifications; vacancies.

- (a) The North Carolina Courts Commission is created. Effective July 1, 1993, it shall consist of 28 members, seven to be appointed by the Governor, seven to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, seven to be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and seven to be appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.
- (b) Of the appointees of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, one shall be a Justice of the Supreme Court, one shall be a Judge of the Court of Appeals, two shall be judges of superior court, two shall be district court judges, and one shall be a public member who is not an attorney and who is not an officer or employee of the Judicial Department.
- (c) Of the seven appointees of the Governor, one shall be a district attorney, one shall be a practicing attorney, one shall be a clerk of superior court, at least three shall be members of the General Assembly, at least two shall not be attorneys, and of the nonattorneys, one shall be a public member who is not an officer or employee of the Judicial Department.
- (d) Of the seven appointees of the Speaker of the House, at least three shall be practicing attorneys, at least three shall be members of the General Assembly, at least two shall not be attorneys, and of the non-attorneys, one shall be a public member who is not an officer or employee of the Judicial Department.
- (e) Of the seven appointees of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, at least three shall be practicing attorneys, at least three shall be members of the General Assembly, at least one shall be a magistrate, and one shall be a public member who is not an attorney and who is not an officer or employee of the Judicial Department.
- (f) Of the initial appointments of each appointing authority, three shall be appointed for four-year terms to begin July 1, 1993, and three shall be appointed for two-year terms to begin July 1, 1993. The two public members appointed by the Governor and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall be appointed for four-year terms to begin July 1, 1997. The two public members appointed by the Chief Justice and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall be appointed for two-year terms to begin July 1, 1997. Successors shall be appointed for four-year terms.
- (g) A vacancy in membership shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term by the appointing authority who made the original appointment. A member whose term expires may be reappointed. (1979, c. 1077, s. 1; 1981, c. 847; 1981 (Reg. Sess., 1982), c. 1253, s. 4; 1983, c. 181, ss. 1, 2; c. 774, s. 2; 1991, c. 739, s. 7; 1993, c. 438, s. 1; 1997-82, s. 1.)

G.S. 7a-506