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§ 7A‑38.7.  Dispute resolution fee for cases referred to mediation.
(a)	 In each criminal case filed in the General Court of Justice that is referred to a 

community mediation center, a dispute resolution fee shall be assessed in the sum of sixty dollars 
($60.00) per mediation of that criminal case, in accordance with subsection (c) of this section, to 
support the services provided by the community mediation centers and the Mediation Network of 
North Carolina. Prior to mediation, the court shall cause the mediation participants to be 
informed that the dispute resolution fee shall be paid as part of any mediation of a criminal case. 
The fee shall be paid to the clerk in advance of the mediation. Fees assessed under this section 
shall be paid to the clerk of superior court in the county where the case was filed and remitted by 
the clerk to the Mediation Network of North Carolina. The Mediation Network may retain up to 
three dollars ($3.00) of this amount as an allowance for its administrative expenses. The 
Mediation Network must remit the remainder of this amount to the community mediation center 
that mediated the case. If the dispute resolution fee is paid from an outside source other than the 
parties to the action, the fee may be paid directly to the community mediation center providing 
services. The court may waive or reduce a fee assessed under this section only upon entry of a 
written order determining there is just cause to grant the waiver or reduction. The court may, upon 
motion of the district attorney and affirmative consent of a community mediation center 
providing mediation services, waive or reduce a fee assessed under this section as applied to an 
entire class of criminal cases by administrative order or otherwise when the court finds that a 
program exists in the judicial district that operates in compliance with G.S. 7A‑38.3D and such 
fee prevents access to a community mediation center. A community mediation center may 
withdraw their consent to waive the fees assessed for an entire class of criminal cases by 
providing written notice to the district attorney, who shall file a motion to withdraw with the 
court.

(b)	 Before providing the district attorney with a dismissal form, the community 
mediation center shall require proof that the defendant has paid the dispute resolution fee as 
required by subsection (a) of this section and shall attach the receipt to the dismissal form.

(c)	 All related criminal charges per defendant that are subject to mediation shall be 
treated as a single criminal case for the purpose of calculating the sixty‑dollar ($60.00) dispute 
resolution fee. In advance of the mediation, the participants, including all complainants, 
defendants, and other parties to the mediation, shall discuss whether the dispute resolution fee 
shall be allocated between them. If the participants do not reach agreement on an allocation of the 
dispute resolution fee, then the fee shall be the responsibility of the defendant, unless the court 
waives or reduces the fee upon entry of a written order, supported by findings of fact and 
conclusions of law, determining there is just cause to waive or reduce the fee. In connection with 
any mediation subject to this section, no mediator or any other community mediation center 
volunteer or employee shall receive any payment directly from any participant in the mediation, 
regardless of whether the payment is a dispute resolution fee, cost of court, restitution, or any 
other fee required by law or court order. No mediator or community mediation center shall charge 
or collect any fees for mediating criminal cases other than the dispute resolution fee assessed 
pursuant to subsection (a) of this section.  (2002‑126, s. 29A.11(a); 2003‑284, s. 13.13; 2011‑145, 
s. 31.24(d); 2012‑142, s. 16.6(a); 2016‑107, s. 9; 2023‑34, s. 7.)


