§ 65-50. Cemetery Commission; members, selection, quorum.

(a) Membership. – The Cemetery Commission shall consist of nine members. The General Assembly shall appoint two members who own or manage or who have retired from owning or managing a cemetery in North Carolina, one of whom shall be recommended by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and one of whom shall be recommended by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. The Governor shall appoint seven members as follows:

- (1) Two members who own or manage cemeteries in North Carolina.
- (2) Three members who are selected from six nominees submitted by the North Carolina Cemetery Association.
- (3) Two public members who have no financial interest in, and are not involved in management of, any cemetery or funeral related business.

(b) Terms. – Four members of the initial Commission shall be appointed for a term to expire June 30, 1977, and three members shall be appointed for a term to expire June 30, 1976. At the end of the respective terms of office of the initial members of the Commission, their successors shall be nominated in the same manner, selected from the same categories and appointed for terms of four years and until their successors are appointed and qualified.

(b1) Any vacancy shall be filled by the authority originally filling that position, except that any vacancy in appointments by the General Assembly shall be filled in accordance with G.S. 120-122.

(c) Removal. – The appointing authority shall have the power to remove any member of the Commission appointed by that authority from office for misfeasance, malfeasance and nonfeasance according to applicable provisions of law.

(d) Quorum. – A majority of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

(e) Officers. – At the first meeting of the Commission held after September 1, 1975, the Commission shall elect one of its members as its chair and another as its vice-chair, both to serve through June 30 of the next following year. Thereafter, at its first meeting held on or after July 1 of each year, the Commission shall elect from its members a president, vice president, and secretary-treasurer with no two offices to be held by the same person. All officers shall serve a term of one year and shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified. (1975, c. 768, s. 1; 2001-486, s. 2.1; 2012-120, s. 3(b).)