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§ 58‑70‑20.  Bond requirement.
(a)	 As a condition precedent to the issuance of any permit under this Article, every 

applicant for a permit shall file with the Commissioner a bond in favor of the State of North 
Carolina that is executed by a surety company licensed to transact surety business in this State. 
The bond shall be maintained in force during the permit period, continuous in form, and remain 
in effect until all moneys collected have been accounted for. The bond shall expressly provide 
that the bond is for the benefit of any person, firm or corporation for whom the collection 
agency engages in the collection of accounts. The bond shall be in the amount of ten thousand 
dollars ($10,000) for the initial permit. The amount of the bond for any renewal permit shall be 
no less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000), nor more than thirty thousand dollars ($30,000), 
and shall be computed as follows: The total collections paid directly to the collection agency 
less commissions earned by the collection agency on those collections for the calendar year 
ending immediately prior to the date of application, multiplied by one‑sixth.

(b)	 A person required by this section to maintain a bond may, in lieu of that bond, 
deposit with the Commissioner the equivalent amount in cash, in certificates of deposit issued 
by banks organized under the laws of the State of North Carolina, or any national bank having 
its principal office in North Carolina, or securities, which shall be held in accordance with 
Article 5 of this Chapter. Securities may only be obligations of the United States or of federal 
agencies listed in G.S. 147‑69.1(c)(2) guaranteed by the United States, obligations of the State 
of North Carolina, or obligations of a city or county of this State. Any proposed deposit of an 
obligation of a city or county of this State is subject to the prior approval of the Commissioner.

(c)	 In addition to the requirements of subsections (a) and (b) of this section, as a 
condition precedent to the issuance of any permit under this Article, every nonresident 
applicant for a permit shall file with the Commissioner a bond in the amount of ten thousand 
dollars ($10,000) in favor of the Department that is executed by a surety company licensed to 
transact surety business in this State. The bond shall be maintained in force during the permit 
period, be continuous in form, and remain in effect until terminated by the Commissioner. The 
bond shall expressly provide that the bond is for the purpose of reimbursing the Department for 
expenses incurred in visiting and examining a nonresident collection agency in connection with 
a federal bankruptcy or State receivership proceeding in which the collection agency is the 
subject of the proceeding.  (1943, c. 170; 1959, c. 1194, s. 3; 1979, c. 835; 1991, c. 212, s. 4; 
2001‑269, s. 1.3; 2016‑107, s. 6.)


