§ 28A-19-3. Limitations on presentation of claims.

- (a) All claims against a decedent's estate which arose before the death of the decedent, except contingent claims based on any warranty made in connection with the conveyance of real estate and claims of the United States and tax claims of the State of North Carolina and subdivisions thereof, whether due or to become due, absolute or contingent, liquidated or unliquidated, secured or unsecured, founded on contract, tort, or other legal basis, which are not presented to the personal representative or collector pursuant to G.S. 28A-19-1 by the date specified in the general notice to creditors as provided for in G.S. 28A-14-1(a) or in those cases requiring the delivery or mailing of notice as provided for in G.S. 28A-14-1(b), within 90 days after the date of the delivery or mailing of the notice if the expiration of said 90-day period is later than the date specified in the general notice to creditors, are forever barred against the estate, the personal representative, the collector, the heirs, and the devisees of the decedent. Provided further, if the expiration of said 90-day period is later than the date specified in the general notice to creditors, the notice delivered or mailed to each creditor, if any, shall be accompanied by a statement which specifies the deadline for filing the claim of the affected creditor.
- (b) All claims against a decedent's estate which arise at or after the death of the decedent, except claims of the United States and tax claims of the State of North Carolina and subdivisions thereof whether due or to become due, absolute or contingent, liquidated or unliquidated, secured or unsecured, founded on contract, tort, or other legal basis are forever barred against the estate, the personal representative, the collector, the heirs, and the devisees of the decedent unless presented to the personal representative or collector as follows:
 - (1) With respect to any claim based on a contract with the personal representative or collector, within six months after the date on which performance by the personal representative or collector is due;
 - (2) With respect to any claim other than a claim based on a contract with the personal representative or collector, within six months after the date on which the claim arises.
- (c) Except as otherwise provided by subsection (f) of this section, no claim shall be barred by the statute of limitations which was not barred thereby at the time of the decedent's death, if the claim is presented within the period provided by subsection (a) hereof.
- (d) All claims of creditors upon whom there has been personal service of notice as provided in G.S. 28A-14-3 are forever barred unless presented to the personal representative or collector within the time and manner set out in this Article.
- (e) Except as otherwise provided by subsection (f) of this section, unless a claim has been presented pursuant to G.S. 28A-19-1 giving notice of an action or special proceeding pending against a decedent at the time of the decedent's death and surviving under G.S. 28A-18-1 within the time provided by subsection (a) of this section, no recovery may be had upon any judgment obtained in any such action or proceeding against the estate, the personal representative, the collector, the heirs, and the devisees of the decedent.
- (f) All claims barrable under the provisions of subsections (a) and (b) hereof shall, in any event, be barred if the first publication or posting of the general notice to creditors as provided for in G.S. 28A-14-1 does not occur within three years after the death of the decedent.
- (g) Nothing in this section affects or prevents any action or proceeding to enforce any mortgage, deed of trust, pledge, lien (including judgment lien), or other security interest upon any property of the decedent's estate, but no deficiency judgment will be allowed if the provisions of this section are not complied with.

G.S. 28A-19-3 Page 1

- (h) The word "claim" as used in this section does not apply to claims of heirs or devisees to their respective shares or interests in the decedent's estate in their capacity as such heirs or devisees.
 - (i) Nothing in this section shall bar:
 - (1) Any claim alleging the liability of the decedent or personal representative; or
 - (2) Any proceeding or action to establish the liability of the decedent or personal representative; or
 - (3) The recovery on any judgment against the decedent or personal representative

to the extent that the decedent or personal representative is protected by insurance coverage with respect to such claim, proceeding or judgment or where there is underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage that might extend to such claim, proceeding, or judgment.

(j) Except as otherwise specifically provided in this section, the limitations on presentation of claims set forth in this section apply to claims by the State of North Carolina, its subdivisions, and its agencies. (1973, c. 1329, s. 3; 1977, c. 446, s. 1; 1979, c. 509, s. 1; 1989, c. 378, s. 3; c. 485, s. 65; 2011-344, s. 4.)

G.S. 28A-19-3 Page 2