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§ 20‑157.  Approach of law enforcement, fire department or rescue squad vehicles or 
ambulances; driving over fire hose or blocking fire fighting equipment; parking, 
etc., near law enforcement, fire department, or rescue squad vehicle or 
ambulance.

(a)	 Upon the approach of any law enforcement or fire department vehicle or public or 
private ambulance or rescue squad emergency service vehicle, or a vehicle operated by the 
Division of Marine Fisheries of the Department of Environmental Quality, or the Division of 
Parks and Recreation of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources, or the North Carolina 
Forest Service of the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services when traveling in 
response to a fire alarm or other emergency response purpose, giving warning signal by 
appropriate light and by audible bell, siren or exhaust whistle, audible under normal conditions 
from a distance not less than 1000 feet, the driver of every other vehicle shall immediately drive 
the same to a position as near as possible and parallel to the right‑hand edge or curb, clear of any 
intersection of streets or highways, and shall stop and remain in such position unless otherwise 
directed by a law enforcement or traffic officer until the law enforcement or fire department 
vehicle, or the vehicle operated by the Division of Marine Fisheries of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, or the Division of Parks and Recreation of the Department of Natural and 
Cultural Resources, or the North Carolina Forest Service of the Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services, or the public or private ambulance or rescue squad emergency service 
vehicle shall have passed. Provided, however, this subsection shall not apply to vehicles traveling 
in the opposite direction of the vehicles herein enumerated when traveling on a four‑lane limited 
access highway with a median divider dividing the highway for vehicles traveling in opposite 
directions, and provided further that the violation of this subsection shall be negligence per se. 
Violation of this subsection is a Class 2 misdemeanor.

(b)	 It shall be unlawful for the driver of any vehicle other than one on official business to 
follow any fire apparatus traveling in response to a fire alarm closer than one block or to drive 
into or park such vehicle within one block where fire apparatus has stopped in answer to a fire 
alarm.

(c)	 Outside of the corporate limits of any city or town it shall be unlawful for the driver of 
any vehicle other than one on official business to follow any fire apparatus traveling in response 
to a fire alarm closer than 400 feet or to drive into or park such vehicle within a space of 400 feet 
from where fire apparatus has stopped in answer to a fire alarm.

(d)	 It shall be unlawful to drive a motor vehicle over a fire hose or any other equipment 
that is being used at a fire at any time, or to block a fire‑fighting apparatus or any other equipment 
from its source of supply regardless of its distance from the fire.

(e)	 It shall be unlawful for the driver of a vehicle, other than one on official business, to 
park and leave standing such vehicle within 100 feet of law enforcement or fire department 
vehicles, public or private ambulances, or rescue squad emergency vehicles which are engaged in 
the investigation of an accident or engaged in rendering assistance to victims of such accident.

(f)	 When an authorized emergency vehicle listed in subsection (a) of this section, or a 
public service vehicle, is parked or standing within 12 feet of a roadway and giving a warning 
signal by appropriate light, the driver of every other approaching vehicle shall, as soon as it is safe 
and when not otherwise directed by an individual lawfully directing traffic, do one of the 
following:

(1)	 Move the vehicle into a lane that is not the lane nearest to the parked or 
standing authorized emergency vehicle or public service vehicle and continue 
traveling in that lane until safely clear of the authorized emergency vehicle or 
public service vehicle. This subdivision applies only if the roadway has at 
least two lanes for traffic proceeding in the direction of the approaching 
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vehicle and if the approaching vehicle may change lanes safely and without 
interfering with any vehicular traffic.

(2)	 Slow the vehicle, maintaining a safe speed for traffic conditions, and operate 
the vehicle at a reduced speed and be prepared to stop until completely past the 
authorized emergency vehicle or public service vehicle. This subdivision 
applies only if the roadway has only one lane for traffic proceeding in the 
direction of the approaching vehicle or if the approaching vehicle may not 
change lanes safely and without interfering with any vehicular traffic.

For purposes of this section, "public service vehicle" means a vehicle that is (i) being used to 
assist motorists or law enforcement officers with wrecked or disabled vehicles, (ii) being used to 
install, maintain, or restore utility service, including electric, cable, telephone, water, wastewater, 
communications, and gas, (iii) being used in the collection of refuse, solid waste, or recycling, or 
(iv) a highway maintenance vehicle owned and operated or contracted by the State or a local 
government and is operating an amber‑colored flashing light authorized by G.S. 20‑130.2. 
Violation of this subsection shall be negligence per se.

(g)	 Except as provided in subsections (a), (h), and (i) of this section, violation of this 
section shall be an infraction punishable by a fine of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00).

(h)	 A person who violates this section and causes damage to property in the immediate 
area of the authorized emergency vehicle or public service vehicle in excess of five hundred 
dollars ($500.00), or causes injury to a law enforcement officer, a firefighter, an emergency 
vehicle operator, an Incident Management Assistance Patrol member, a public service vehicle 
operator, or any other emergency response person in the immediate area of the authorized 
emergency vehicle or public service vehicle is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

(i)	 A person who violates this section and causes serious injury or death to a law 
enforcement officer, a firefighter, an emergency vehicle operator, an Incident Management 
Assistance Patrol member, a public service vehicle operator, or any other emergency response 
person in the immediate area of the authorized emergency vehicle or public service vehicle is 
guilty of a Class F felony. The Division may suspend, for up to six months, the drivers license of 
any person convicted under this subsection. If the Division suspends a person's license under this 
subsection, a judge may allow the licensee a limited driving privilege for a period not to exceed 
the period of suspension, provided the person's license has not also been revoked or suspended 
under any other provision of law. The limited driving privilege shall be issued in the same manner 
and under the terms and conditions prescribed in G.S. 20‑16.1(b).  (1937, c. 407, s. 119; 1955, cc. 
173, 744; 1971, c. 366, ss. 1, 2; 1985, c. 764, s. 31; 1985 (Reg. Sess., 1986), c. 852, s. 17; 1993, c. 
539, s. 372; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c); 2001‑331, s. 1; 2005‑189, s. 1; 2006‑259, s. 9; 
2007‑360, s. 1; 2010‑132, s. 12; 2012‑14, s. 1; 2013‑415, s. 1(e); 2015‑26, s. 3; 2015‑241, s. 
14.30(ii); 2019‑157, s. 2; 2022‑68, s. 6(a).)


