§ 143B-74. U.S.S. North Carolina Battleship Commission – members; selection; quorum; compensation.

The U.S.S. North Carolina Battleship Commission of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources shall consist of 18 members including the Secretary of Natural and Cultural Resources and the Secretary of Commerce who shall serve as voting ex officio members. The members of the Commission appointed for terms to end in 1991 shall serve for an additional two-year period. At the end of the respective terms of office of the members of the Commission serving in 1991, their successors shall be appointed for terms of four years and until their successors are appointed and qualify. Any appointment to fill a vacancy on the Commission created by the resignation, dismissal, death, or disability of a member shall be for the balance of the unexpired term. The provisions of the Executive Organization Act of 1973 pertaining to the residence of members of commissions shall not apply to the U.S.S. North Carolina Battleship Commission.

The Governor shall have the power to remove any member of the Commission from office for misfeasance, malfeasance, or nonfeasance in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 143B-13 of the Executive Organization Act of 1973.

The members of the Commission shall receive per diem and necessary travel and subsistence expenses in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 138-5.

A majority of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. The Governor shall designate from among the members of the Commission a chairman, vice-chairman and treasurer. The Secretary of Natural and Cultural Resources or his designee shall serve as Secretary of the Commission. The Commission shall meet at least twice annually upon the call of the chairman, the Secretary of Natural and Cultural Resources, or any seven members of the Commission. (1973, c. 476, s. 58; 1977, c. 741, s. 4; 1991, c. 73, s. 1; 1991 (Reg. Sess., 1992), c. 959, s. 39; 2015-241, ss. 14.30(s), (t).)