## § 143B-72. Tryon Palace Commission – members; selection; quorum; compensation.

The Tryon Palace Commission of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources shall consist of the following members: 25 voting members appointed by the Governor, nonvoting members emeriti appointed by the Governor, and five voting ex officio members as provided in this section.

The Governor shall appoint 25 voting members. The terms of the initial members shall be staggered as follows: Nine of the members shall be appointed to serve four-year terms, eight of the members shall be appointed to serve three-year terms, and eight of the members shall be appointed to serve two-year terms. At the end of the respective terms of office of the initial appointed members of the Commission, the appointments of their successors, with the exception of ex officio members and members emeriti, shall be for terms of four years and until their successors are appointed and qualify. Any appointment to fill a vacancy on the Commission shall be for the balance of the unexpired term. The Governor shall designate the chair of the Tryon Palace Commission. The other officers of the Tryon Palace Commission shall be elected by the members of the Tryon Palace Commission.

The Governor may also appoint any person who has previously served on the Tryon Palace Commission with distinction to the Commission as a member emeritus. A person appointed as a member emeritus shall be deemed a lifetime member of the Commission and shall serve as a nonvoting member.

In addition to the members who are appointed by the Governor, the Attorney General, the Secretary of Natural and Cultural Resources or the Secretary's designee, the mayor of the City of New Bern, the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at East Carolina University, and the chairman of the Board of County Commissioners of Craven County shall serve as voting ex officio members of said Commission. The provisions of the Executive Organization Act of 1973 pertaining to the residence of members of commissions shall not apply to the Tryon Palace Commission.

A majority of the voting members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

The members of the Commission shall serve without pay and without expense allowance. (1973, c. 476, s. 55; 1977, c. 771, s. 4; 1979, c. 151, s. 1; 1993, c. 109, s. 1; 2015-241, ss. 14.30(s), (t).)