§ 143B-6. Principal departments.

In addition to the principal departments enumerated in the Executive Organization Act of 1971, all executive and administrative powers, duties, and functions not including those of the General Assembly and its agencies, the General Court of Justice and the administrative agencies created pursuant to Article IV of the Constitution of North Carolina, and higher education previously vested by law in the several State agencies, are vested in the following principal departments:

- (1) Department of Natural and Cultural Resources.
- (2) Department of Health and Human Services.
- (3) Department of Revenue.
- (4) Department of Public Safety.
- (5) Repealed by Session Laws 2012-83, s. 48, effective June 26, 2012.
- (6) Department of Environmental Quality.
- (7) Department of Transportation.
- (8) Department of Administration.
- (9) Department of Commerce.
- (10) Community Colleges System Office.
- (11) Repealed by Session Laws 2012-83, s. 48, effective June 26, 2012.
- (12) Department of Information Technology.
- (13) Department of Military and Veterans Affairs.
- (14) Department of Adult Correction.
- (15) State Bureau of Investigation. (1973, c. 476, s. 6; c. 620, s. 9; c. 1262, ss. 10, 86; 1975, c. 716, s. 5; c. 879, s. 46; 1977, c. 70, s. 23; c. 198, s. 22; c. 771, s. 4; 1979, 2nd Sess., c. 1130, s. 3; 1989, c. 727, s. 218(122); c. 751, s. 7(19); 1991 (Reg. Sess., 1992), c. 959, s. 38; 1997-443, ss. 11A.118(a), 11A.119(a); 1999-84, s. 23; 2000-137, s. 4(mm); 2011-145, s. 19.1(g), (h), (l); 2012-83, s. 48; 2015-241, ss. 7A.1(d), 14.30(s), (u), 24.1(aa); 2015-268, s. 7.3(a); 2021-180, s. 19C.9(e); 2023-134, s. 19F.4(c).)

G.S. 143B-6 Page 1