Part 15A. North Carolina Advisory Council on the Eastern Band of the Cherokee.

## § 143B-411.1. North Carolina Advisory Council on the Eastern Band of the Cherokee – creation; membership; terms of office.

The North Carolina Advisory Council on the Eastern Band of the Cherokee is created in the Department of Administration. The Council shall consist of 16 members and shall include the following members: eight members shall be appointed by the Chief with the consent of the Tribal Council of the Eastern Band of the Cherokee; the Superintendent of Public Instruction or his designee; the Secretary of Administration or his designee; the Secretary of Health and Human Services or his designee; the Secretary of Environmental Quality or his designee; the Attorney General or his designee; one member appointed by the Governor who shall be a representative of local government in Swain, Jackson, or Cherokee Counties; one legislator appointed by the Speaker of the House; and one legislator appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Members serving by virtue of their office within State Government shall serve so long as they hold that office, except that the members appointed by the Speaker of the House and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall serve for two-year terms. Members appointed by the Chief shall serve at the pleasure of the Chief. Members appointed by the Governor shall serve a term of four years at the pleasure of the Governor. (1983 (Reg. Sess., 1984), c. 1085, s. 1; 1989, c. 727, s. 218(150); 1997-443, ss. 11A.118(a), 11A.119(a); 2015-241, s. 14.30(v).)