§ 143B-407. North Carolina State Commission of Indian Affairs – membership; term of office; chairman; compensation.

- The State Commission of Indian Affairs shall consist of two persons appointed by the General Assembly, the Secretary of Health and Human Services, the Assistant Secretary of Commerce in charge of the Division of Employment Security, the Secretary of Administration, the Secretary of Environmental Quality, the Commissioner of Labor or their designees and 21 representatives of the Indian community. These Indian members shall be selected by tribal or community consent from the Indian groups that are recognized by the State of North Carolina and are principally geographically located as follows: the Coharie of Sampson and Harnett Counties; the Eastern Band of Cherokees; the Haliwa Saponi of Halifax, Warren, and adjoining counties; the Lumbees of Robeson, Hoke and Scotland Counties; the Meherrin of Hertford County; the Waccamaw-Siouan from Columbus and Bladen Counties; the Sappony; the Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation of Alamance and Orange Counties, and the Native Americans located in Cumberland, Guilford, Johnston, Mecklenburg, Orange, and Wake Counties. The Coharie shall have two members; the Eastern Band of Cherokees, two; the Haliwa Saponi, two; the Lumbees, three; the Meherrin, one; the Waccamaw-Siouan, two; the Sappony, one; the Cumberland County Association for Indian People, two; the Guilford Native Americans, two; the Metrolina Native Americans, two; the Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation, one, the Triangle Native American Society, one. Of the two appointments made by the General Assembly, one shall be made upon the recommendation of the Speaker, and one shall be made upon recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Appointments by the General Assembly shall be made in accordance with G.S. 120-121 and vacancies shall be filled in accordance with G.S. 120-122.
- Members serving by virtue of their office within State government shall serve so long as they hold that office. Members representing Indian tribes and groups shall be elected by the tribe or group concerned and shall serve for three-year terms except that at the first election of Commission members by tribes and groups one member from each tribe or group shall be elected to a one-year term, one member from each tribe or group to a two-year term, and one member from the Lumbees to a three-year term. The initial appointment from the Indians of Person County shall expire on June 30, 1999. The initial appointment from the Triangle Native American Society shall expire June 30, 2003. The initial appointment of the Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation shall expire June 30, 2005. Thereafter, all Commission members will be elected to three-year terms. All members shall hold their offices until their successors are appointed and qualified. Vacancies occurring on the Commission shall be filled by the tribal council or governing body concerned. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy shall be appointed for the remainder of the term of the member causing the vacancy. The Governor shall appoint a chairman of the Commission from among the Indian members of the Commission, subject to ratification by the full Commission. The initial appointments by the General Assembly shall expire on June 30, 1983. Thereafter, successors shall serve for terms of two years.

In the event that a vacancy occurs among the membership representing Indian tribes and groups and the vacancy temporarily cannot be filled by the tribe or group for any reason, the Commission membership may designate a tribal or group member to serve on the Commission on an interim basis until the tribe or group is able to select a permanent member to fill the vacancy. The service of the interim member shall terminate immediately upon appointment by the tribe or group of a member to fill the vacancy in its membership.

(c) Commission members who are seated by virtue of their office within the State government shall be compensated at the rate specified in G.S. 138-6. Commission members who are members of the General Assembly shall be compensated at the rate specified in G.S. 120-3.1. Indian members of the commission shall be compensated at the rate specified in G.S. G.S. 143B-407

138-5. (1977, c. 771, s. 4; c. 849, s. 1; 1977, 2nd Sess., c. 1189; 1981, c. 47, s. 5; 1981 (Reg. Sess., 1982), c. 1191, ss. 74, 76; 1989, c. 727, s. 218(149); 1991, c. 467, s. 1; 1995, c. 490, s. 27; 1997-147, s. 2; 1997-293, s. 2; 1997-443, ss. 11A.118(a), 11A.119(a); 2001-318, s. 1; 2002-126, s. 19.1A(a); 2003-87, s. 2; 2009-39, s. 1; 2011-401, s. 3.20; 2015-241, s. 14.30(v).)

G.S. 143B-407 Page 2