## Part 30A. American Indian Heritage Commission.

## § 143B-135.5. American Indian Heritage Commission established.

- (a) Creation and Duties. There is created the American Indian Heritage Commission in the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources. The Commission shall advise and assist the Secretary of Natural and Cultural Resources in the preservation, interpretation, and promotion of American Indian history, arts, customs, and culture. The Commission shall have the following powers and duties:
  - (1) Assist in the coordination of American Indian cultural events.
  - (2) Advise the Secretary of Natural and Cultural Resources on the oversight and management of all State-managed American Indian historic sites.
  - (3) Promote public awareness of the annual American Indian Heritage Month Celebration.
  - (4) Encourage American Indian cultural tourism throughout the State of North Carolina.
  - (5) Advise the Secretary of Natural and Cultural Resources upon any matter the Secretary may refer to it.
- (b) Members. The Commission shall consist of 12 members. The initial board shall be selected on or before February 1, 2022, as follows:
  - (1) One representative recommended by each of the following tribes: Coharie, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians, Haliwa-Saponi, Lumbee, Meherrin, Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation, Sappony, and Waccamaw-Siouan.
  - (2) One representative recommended by each of the following organizations: Cumberland County Association for Indian People, Guilford Native American Association, Metrolina Native American Association, and the Triangle Native American Society.
- (c) Terms. The members recommended by the Coharie, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians, Haliwa-Saponi, and Lumbee Tribes and the members recommended by the Cumberland County Association for Indian People and the Guilford Native American Association shall serve initial terms of two years expiring on June 30, 2023. The members recommended by the Meherrin, Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation, Sappony, and Waccamaw-Siouan Tribes and the members recommended by the Metrolina Native American Association and the Triangle Native American Society shall serve initial terms of three years expiring on June 30, 2024. Upon the expiration of the terms of the initial members of the Commission, each member shall be appointed to terms for three years and shall serve until a successor is appointed.
- (d) Vacancies. A vacancy shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment. Appointees to fill vacancies shall serve the remainder of the unexpired term and until their successors have been duly appointed and qualified.
- (e) Removal. The Commission may remove a member for misfeasance, malfeasance, nonfeasance, or neglect of duty.
- (f) Officers. The chair shall be elected from among the membership. The Commission shall select its other officers from among the membership as it deems necessary. All officers serve for one year or until successors are qualified.
- (g) Meetings; Quorum. The Commission shall meet at least semiannually to conduct business. The Commission shall establish the procedures for calling, holding, and conducting regular and special meetings. A majority of Commission members shall constitute a quorum. The Department of Natural and Cultural Resources shall provide space for the Commission to meet.
- (h) Compensation. The Commission members shall receive no salary as a result of serving on the Commission but shall receive per diem, subsistence, and travel expenses in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 138-5 and G.S. 138-6, as applicable.

G.S. 143B-135.5 Page 1

(i) Staffing. – The Secretary of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources shall be responsible for staffing the Commission. (2021-180, s. 14.9(a); 2022-6, s. 7.4.)

G.S. 143B-135.5 Page 2