§ 143-240. Creation of Wildlife Resources Commission; districts; qualifications of members.

(a) There is hereby created the Wildlife Resources Commission of the Department of Environmental Quality which shall consist of 19 citizens of North Carolina who shall be appointed as is provided in G.S. 143-241.

Each member of the Commission shall be an experienced hunter, fisherman, farmer, or biologist, who shall be generally informed on wildlife conservation and restoration problems.

Members of the Commission shall receive per diem and necessary travel and subsistence expenses in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 138-5 or G.S. 138-6 as the case may be, which shall be paid from fees collected by the Wildlife Resources Commission.

(b) There are established the following geographical wildlife districts:

First district to be composed of the following counties: Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, Washington.

Second district to be composed of the following counties: Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt.

Third district to be composed of the following counties: Edgecombe, Franklin, Halifax, Johnston, Nash, Northampton, Vance, Wake, Warren, Wayne, Wilson.

Fourth district to be composed of the following counties: Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland.

Fifth district to be composed of the following counties: Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Durham, Granville, Guilford, Lee, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham.

Sixth district to be composed of the following counties: Anson, Cabarrus, Davidson, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Rowan, Stanly, Union.

Seventh district to be composed of the following counties: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Davie, Forsyth, Iredell, Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin.

Eighth district to be composed of the following counties: Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln, McDowell, Mitchell, Rutherford, Yancey.

Ninth district to be composed of the following counties: Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Polk, Swain, Transylvania. (1947, c. 263, s. 4; 1961, c. 737, s. 11/2; 1965, c. 859, s. 2; 1971, c. 285; 1977, c. 771, s. 4; c. 906, s. 1; 1981 (Reg. Sess., 1982), c. 1191, s. 79; 1989, c. 68, s. 1; c. 727, s. 218(112); 1993 (Reg. Sess., 1994), c. 684, s. 13; 1997-443, s. 11A.119(a); 2001-486, s. 2.11(a); 2015-241, s. 14.30(u).)

G.S. 143-240 Page 1