§ 130A-30. Commission for Public Health – Members; selection; quorum; compensation.

(a) Composition. – The Commission for Public Health shall consist of the following 13 members:

- (1) Four elected by the North Carolina Medical Society.
- (2) Four at-large members appointed by the General Assembly in accordance with G.S. 120-121, two upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and two upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
- (3) Five appointed by the Governor.

(b) Qualifications of Members Appointed by the Governor. – One of the members appointed by the Governor shall be a licensed pharmacist, one a licensed veterinarian, one a licensed optometrist, one a licensed dentist, and one a registered nurse.

(b1) Length of Terms. – Members appointed to the Commission shall serve for a term of four years. At the end of the respective terms of office of members of the Commission, their successors shall be appointed for terms of four years. Any appointment to fill a vacancy on the Commission created by the resignation, dismissal, death, or disability of a member shall be filled by the appointing authority for the balance of the unexpired term. As used in this section, the term "appointing authority" means the North Carolina Medical Society in the case of members elected by the Medical Society, the General Assembly in the case of members appointed by the General Assembly, and the Governor in the case of members appointed by the Governor.

(c) Removal of Members. – Each appointing authority may remove any member appointed by that appointing authority for misfeasance, malfeasance, or nonfeasance.

(c1) Filling of Vacancies. – Vacancies on the Commission among the membership elected by the North Carolina Medical Society shall be filled by the executive committee of the Medical Society until the next meeting of the Medical Society, when the Medical Society shall fill the vacancy for the unexpired term. Vacancies on the Commission among the membership appointed by the General Assembly shall be filled by the General Assembly as provided in subdivision (a)(2) of this section for the unexpired term. Vacancies on the Commission among the membership appointed by the Governor shall be filled by the Governor for the unexpired term.

(d) Quorum. – A majority of the members of the Commission constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business.

(e) Per Diem and Expenses. – The members of the Commission shall receive per diem and necessary traveling and subsistence expenses in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 138-5. (1973, c. 476, s. 124; c. 1367, ss. 1, 2; 1981, c. 553; 1989, c. 727, ss. 175, 177; 1989 (Reg. Sess., 1990), c. 1004, s. 51; 1995, c. 507, s. 26.8(d); 2007-182, s. 2; 2023-136, s. 3.1(a).)