## § 116-41.13A. Definitions.

The following definitions apply in this Part:

- (1) Focused growth institution. Any of the following:
  - a. Elizabeth City State University.
  - b. Fayetteville State University.
  - c. North Carolina Agricultural and Technical University.
  - d. North Carolina Central University.
  - e. The University of North Carolina at Pembroke.
  - f. Western Carolina University.
  - g. Winston-Salem State University.
- (2) Special needs institution. The North Carolina School of the Arts, redesignated effective August 1, 2008, as the "University of North Carolina School of the Arts," the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, and The University of North Carolina at Asheville.
- (3) STEM subject area. Any subject area in a field of scholarship related to science, technology, engineering, or mathematics. A subject area in a field of scholarship related to journalism or law is not a STEM subject area. (2003-293, s. 1; 2008-192, s. 6; 2023-102, s. 1; 2023-134, s. 8.18(a).)