§ 106-841. Soil and Water Conservation Commission – members; selection; removal; compensation; quorum; services.

- (a) The Soil and Water Conservation Commission of the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services shall be composed of seven members appointed by the Governor. The Commission shall be composed of the following members:
 - (1) The president, first vice-president, and immediate past president of the North Carolina Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts. Vacancies arising in any of these positions shall be filled through appointment by the Governor upon the nomination by the executive committee of the North Carolina Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts;
 - (2) Three supervisor members nominated by the North Carolina Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts from its own membership representing the three major geographical regions of the State and appointed by the Governor;
 - (3) One member appointed at large by the Governor.
- (b) The members of the Commission, except those members serving in an ex officio capacity, shall be appointed for terms of three years and shall serve until their successors are appointed and qualified. Any appointment to fill a vacancy on the Commission created by the resignation, dismissal, death or disability of a member shall be for the balance of the unexpired term.
- (c) The office of member of the Soil and Water Conservation Commission may be held concurrently with any other elective or appointive office, in addition to the maximum number of offices permitted to be held by one person under G.S. 128-1.1.
- (d) The Governor shall have the power to remove any member of the Commission from office for misfeasance, malfeasance, and nonfeasance according to the provisions of G.S. 143B-13.
- (e) The members of the Commission shall receive per diem and necessary travel and subsistence expenses in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 138-5.
- (f) A majority of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.
- (g) All clerical and other services required by the Commission shall be supplied by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. (1973, c. 1262, s. 35; 1977, c. 771, s. 4; 1989, c. 727, s. 218(136); 1997-443, s. 11A.119(a); 2002-176, s. 2; 2003-198, s. 1; 2011-145, s. 13.22A(e), (g).)

G.S. 106-841 Page 1