§ 106-202.17. Creation of committee; membership; terms; chairman; meetings; committee action; quorum; compensation.

(a) The North Carolina Plant Conservation Scientific Committee is created within the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

(b) The Scientific Committee shall consist of the Directors of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Herbarium, the North Carolina State University Herbarium, the North Carolina Botanical Garden of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the North Carolina State Museum of Natural Sciences of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources, and the North Carolina Natural Heritage Program of the Department of Natural and Cultural and Cultural Resources or their designees, a representative of the North Carolina Association of Nurserymen, Inc., appointed by the Commissioner, and a representative of a conservation organization, appointed by the Commissioner. Members shall serve for three-year terms and may succeed themselves.

(c) The Board shall select a chairman of the Scientific Committee from the Scientific Committee's membership to serve for three years.

(d) The Scientific Committee may hold its meetings at the North Carolina Botanical Garden of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

(e) Any action of the Scientific Committee shall require at least four concurring votes.

(f) Members of the Scientific Committee who are not State employees may receive per diem, subsistence and travel allowances authorized by G.S. 138-5 if they so request; members who are State employees may receive the subsistence and travel allowances authorized by G.S. 138-6 if they so request; and members who are also members of the General Assembly may receive subsistence and travel allowances authorized by G.S. 120-3.1 if they so request. (1979, c. 964, s. 1; 1989, c. 727, s. 218(46); 1993, c. 561, s. 116(i); 1997-261, s. 109; 1997-443, s. 11A.119(a); 2007-456, s. 2; 2015-241, ss. 14.30(ll), (w).)