§ 104E-13. Administrative procedures and judicial review.

- (a) The Department may refuse to grant a license as provided in G.S. 104E-7 or 104E-10 to any applicant who does not possess the requirements or qualifications which the Commission may prescribe in rules and regulations. The Department may suspend, revoke, or amend any license in the event that the person to whom such license was granted violates any of the rules and regulations of the Commission, or ceases, or fails to have the reasonable facilities prescribed by the Commission: Provided, that before any order is entered denying an application for a license or suspending, revoking, or amending a license previously granted, the applicant or person to whom such license was granted shall be given notice and granted a hearing as provided in Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes.
- (b) Whenever the Department in its opinion determines that an emergency exists requiring immediate action to protect the public health and safety the Department may, without notice or hearing, issue an order reciting the existence of such emergency and requiring that such action be taken as is necessary to meet the emergency. Notwithstanding any provision of this Chapter, such order shall be effective immediately. Any person to whom such order is directed shall comply therewith immediately, and on application to the Department shall be afforded a hearing within 10 days. On the basis of such hearing, the emergency order shall be continued, modified, or revoked within 30 days after such hearing, as the Department may deem appropriate under the evidence.
- (c) Any applicant or person to whom a license was granted who shall be aggrieved by any order of the Department or its duly authorized agent denying such application or suspending, revoking, or amending such license may appeal directly to the superior court as provided in Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes. (1975, c. 718, s. 1; 1987, c. 850, s. 10.)

G.S. 104e-13 Page 1