#### Article 35B.

# Livestock Dealer Licensing Act.

### § 106-418.8. Definitions.

When used in this Article,

- (1) The term "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Agriculture of North Carolina;
- (2) The term "livestock" means cattle, sheep, goats, swine, horses and mules;
- (3) The term "livestock dealer" means any person who buys livestock (i) for his own account for purposes of resale, or (ii) for the account of others; and
- (4) The term "person" means an individual, partnership, corporation, association, or other legal entity. (1973, c. 196.)

### § 106-418.9. Exemptions.

The provisions of this Article shall not apply to a person who offers for sale or trade only livestock which he has raised or livestock which he owns or has had in his possession for a period of 30 days or longer or who has had the livestock grown under contract, and is not engaged in the business of buying, selling, trading, or negotiating the transfer of livestock. Neither shall this Article apply to a livestock market operator conducting sales in compliance with the Public Livestock Markets Act (General Statutes Chapter 106, Article 35). (1973, c. 196.)

## § 106-418.10. Prohibited conduct.

It shall be unlawful for any person to:

- (1) Carry on or conduct the business of a livestock dealer without a current valid license issued by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services under the provisions of this Article;
- (2) Fail to keep the records required by G.S. 106-418.13. (1973, c. 196; 1997-261, s. 52.)

### § 106-418.11. Licenses.

(a) Any person desiring to be licensed as a livestock dealer shall make application to the Commissioner. Such application shall contain the address, both business and personal, of the applicant. No financial information shall be required from the applicant.

Whenever an applicant has complied with this Article, the Commissioner shall issue to such applicant a license which shall entitle the licensee to engage in the business of livestock dealer for a period of one year, unless such license is sooner suspended, or revoked in accordance with the provisions of this Article.

The license may be renewed annually by written request to the Commissioner on a form prepared by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, which form shall require only the name and current address of the licensee. No renewal fee shall be charged.

- (b) The Commissioner may suspend for a period not to exceed 120 days the license of any livestock dealer whom the Commissioner finds has violated G.S. 106-418.10(2). For a second violation of G.S. 106-418.10(2) within a period of two years, the Commissioner may revoke a dealer's license.
- (c) The Commissioner may refuse to issue a license to any person who has (i) within five years of his application therefor, been finally adjudicated as having on two or more occasions

violated the provisions of G.S. 106-418.10(1) or (ii) on three or more occasions within five years of his application therefor been finally adjudicated as violating G.S. 106-418.10(2).

(d) All proceedings relative to the suspension, revocation, or refusal of a license shall be conducted pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. (1973, c. 196; c. 1331, s. 3; 1975, c. 19, s. 34; 1987, c. 827, s. 1; 1997-261, s. 109.)

# § 106-418.12. Hearings.

Any hearing required or permitted to be held pursuant to this Article may be conducted by the Commissioner or his delegate and his decision shall be treated for all purposes as that of the Commissioner. (1973, c. 196.)

### § 106-418.13. Maintenance of records.

Every livestock dealer shall keep complete records for at least one year of all transactions involving livestock and permit any authorized agent of the Commissioner to have access to and to copy all records relating to such transactions. Such records shall consist of the approximate age, breed and species of the livestock, the date of sale, name and address of persons from whom and to whom livestock are sold and traded. (1973, c. 196.)

#### § 106-418.14. Penalties.

Any person who violates G.S. 106-418.10(1) is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. For a second or subsequent violation of G.S. 106-418.10(1), a person is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. (1973, c. 196; 1999-408, s. 5.)

### § 106-418.15. Short title.

This Article may be cited as the "Livestock Dealer Licensing Act." (1973, c. 196.)

#### § 106-418.16. Civil penalties.

The Commissioner may assess a civil penalty of not more than five thousand dollars (\$5,000) against any person who violates a provision of this Article or any rule promulgated thereunder. In determining the amount of the penalty, the Commissioner shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by the violation.

The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the Civil Penalty and Forfeiture Fund in accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2. (1995, c. 516, s. 11; 1998-215, s. 15.)